Unemployment, Day 3


Ok, so today wasn’t the best day of my entire life.  Again.  But it was pretty damn good, if ya ask me.  And since you’re reading my blog, we can just go ahead and assume you asked.  Therefore: today was pretty damn good.  Oops, I’m being repetitive.  My bad.

What made today so good?  For starters, I banged.  Yeah I said it.  And it wasn’t even afternoon delight.  That jawn was morning decentness!  Apparently, starving artists are sexy.  CHOMP!!!

Surely something else must’ve happened to make today a fine day.  Right?  Nope.

I’m a simple man, fairly easy to please.

However, I’m here, posting away about Day 3.  I may as well share the rest of my day.  As one might expect, I was up early this morning.  Today is the first weekday since I lost my job, after all.

Monday.

I gotta get going here if I intend to pay some bills.  Shitty as the economy may be, jobs exist.  There’s work to be had.  I found a few opportunities that tickled my fancy.  Therefore, I submitted apps and resumes.  Keep yo fingaz crossed…

You remember that art project I’ve mentioned?  Undersea Adventure?  Yup.  That one.  It’s coming together rather nicely.  I’m quite creative.  But in order to get this thing to do what I need it to do–namely, not fall apart–I needed toothpicks.  How are there no toothpicks here?  A box or twelve of toothpicks.  Every house has at least this many.  Correct?  Not so, it turns out.  Off I went, to Target and Giant to find the best deal on friggin’ sharp, wooden sticks.

While at the Metroplex, I stopped at Barnes &  Noble.  It felt pretty damn relaxing to stroll the aisles, pick up a bunch of books I had no intention of buying, and just take my time doing nothing at all.  After 45 minutes or so, I crossed the near-empty parking lot, opened the car door–dented and rusty from one of my three accidents while working my last job.

Then I stopped.

The weather today was damn-near perfect.  Not sure what the temp was, but I wore shorts and a t-shirt.  Neither hot nor cold, I breathed in what seemed at the time to be fresh air.  I smiled.  The blue sky rolled out above me, with clouds lazily sauntering by and a serene breeze promising better days.  The lingering moment swept me away to days spent in St Augustine, a dumb-luck loser who had little more than the present, grateful for a Universe that always speaks, always lets me know that everything’s ok.

Refreshed, I jumped in the car and headed home.

The past few Sundays, I’ve been making chicken.  Bomb-ass chicken.  Fuck Sunday, I thought today.  I’m eating bomb-ass chicken on a Monday.  Who’s gonna stop me?  That’s right.  No one.

I threw an onion, a few carrots, some celery and a few apples into a pot and let it boil for a good hour and a half.  I even tossed in the onion skins, the shredded peelings from the carrots, and the end of the celery bunch where all the stalks meet in a jubilee of celeric ecstacy.  Once the broth grew golden, I chucked in some spices.  Don’t ask which because I have little clue what I own and measured none of it.  All you need to know is (see: bomb-ass chick…) it tasted good.  Together with the apples, veggies, and spices, I cooked some wings and a couple thighs for 45 minutes.  When the timer on my microwave sounded, I removed the chicken, allowing it to drain while the oven preheated to 425.  The pot simmered all the while.  Mmmmm, flavorrrrrr…..  The chicken cooked in the stove for another 25 minutes, leaving it perfectly brown and fall-off-the-bone tender.

I grubbed.

The bones went back into the pot (I don’t expect anyone else will eat it later, so my cooties will be contained) and I let it simmer a little while longer.

In the meantime, Undersea Adventure called.  I finished up my homework.  It resembles something a child would make–just the look I was going for.  Still, it’s an A project.  I love that class!  I’ll try to post a picture…

Today was an all-around masterpiece!  I made sweet love, I made delicious chicken, and I made beautiful art.  Keep in mind, beauty is in the eye of the beholder.  And now, I be holding on to the last precious moments of today, content as a porcine plodder in poop.  Not the best day in my life ever.  But pretty fucking good.

Oh, in case you were wondering (and we all know you were), the all-time record for page views topped at 129 yesterday.  Thank you all very much.  Keep reading; I’ll keep writing.

One thought on “Unemployment, Day 3

  1. This was another good one, Rob. You do have good writing skills – no doubt. I like to ‘hear’ how your days go, but then I’m partial – HUH? It’s always said that “if you love what you do, you’ll never work another day in your life”. Here’s to you never working! I know that sounds weird to say – but you catch my drift! But doing something ‘good’ is half the battle – you have to be willing to do it. You keep posting – I’ll keep reading!!!

Leave a Reply

